Support Forums

Looking for support? You can access the support system via your account.

Forums Forums Search & Filter Pro migrating to pro version

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Max Waterman

Hi,

I’ve spent the past week working on making changes to an existing wordpress site so that it does what our designers want.

I’m was new to wordpress, but I am a developer and have html/css/js skills and can understand php to an acceptable level. I guess I’m picking up wordpress, but approached it in (perhaps) the wrong way – ie I just dove in and made changes without completely understanding the architecture of a wordpress site.

The site I’m working on is just a web site, and not a blog as such, and is used to showcase a set of projects.

The designers wanted the ‘all’ page to show all the projects when the page is loaded and update the projects shown as terms are entered/selected in the searchandfilter. This is quite similar to the AJAX part of the pro version, hence us purchasing it (along with the prospect of support).

However, I see that the pro version is quite different to the free version – the version number of the pro version makes me think it’s older, though it’s probably just different. Anyway, I have a set of changes in the free version that I now need to port over into the pro version and everything is quite different.

Is there any guide to how the parts of the free version relate to the parts of the pro version?

Max.

Ross Moderator

Hey Max

Yeah there is always a danger when modifying plugins directly, because they don’t offer support like in themes (where you can have child themes and modify these as you wish) – so any update, you risk losing all changes you’ve made.

The pro version codebase is considerably different to the free, but there are remnants in there..

Can you describe to me what it is you made the free version do and maybe I can point you in the right direction?

Thanks

Max Waterman