Support Forums

Looking for support? You can access the support system via your account.

Forums Forums Search & Filter Pro Speed considerations – your advice please

Tagged: , ,

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • xmarksthespot

I am building a new site. I’m not a developer but I have a little technical knowledge.

I bought S&F Pro yesterday, mainly for its AJAX filtering capability – and was able to get up and running with a posts filter quite quickly. Thumbs up.

My questions are about speed/indexing – so with the answers I can then design the site in the ‘best’ way for users.

First, some background. Currently, I am just using *standard* posts, i.e. no custom post types. Posts are categorised, e.g. case studies, testimonials, news etc. Posts are tagged, with some tags being used across categories.

I have set up a Case Studies page https://d.xmarksthespot.co.uk/treasure-hunt-case-studies/ in which posts from the case study category are ’embedded’.

I’ve used S&F Pro for the simple AJAX filter you can see. (Ignore any duplicate filters on the same page – that’s the subject of a separate support question).

In the Filter I’ve set an Include for the ‘Case Studies’ category and also an Include for tags ‘Private’ and ‘Corporate’.

The Case Studies have other tags too (4-5 per case study) – e.g. where the event that’s the subject of the case study took place (London, Bruges, Cotswolds etc), Event theme, Group type etc.

Until the volume of Case Studies increase the simple filter is fine for now. I envisage quickly building to 30-40 case studies of about 400 words each then adding one a month thereafter – so very modest volumes IMO. The number of unique tags across the Case Studies could be of the order of 100.

Case Studies will probably account for about 15-20% of the total posts.