Support Forums

Looking for support? You can access the support system via your account.

Forums Forums Search & Filter Pro Include AND exclude category

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 19 total)
  • Jeroen bakker

Hi, In a search form I want to include one category AND exclude one category. the problem is I can only choose either include OR exclude. is there a way to do what I want?
    thanks

Trevor Moderator

You may be able to do it using custom code, but it is not possible in the plugin settings. You would have to use the Edit Query Arguments filter.

Jeroen bakker

Hi thansk, I am not a programmer. could you please provide me with an example where one category (a number) is excluded from the from.
    I guess i have to put it then in my functions.php ?
    many thanks
    cheers, jeroen

Trevor Moderator
    This reply has been marked as private.
    Ross Moderator

Hi Jeroen

Sorry for the delay just picking this up now.

I have a question regarding the logic of what you are trying to do.

Including and excluding are not technically possible.

By default, everything is included.

So if you include a single category, all results will be restricted to what you just included, meaning, every other category will be automatically excluded (in effect), meaning you shouldn’t need to exclude anything else.

Take this example, a list of categories:

Blog
    Design
    Development

If I included “Design”, then the search would be limited to only:

Design

So Blog and Development would be excluded already – and there would be no need exclude anything.

Does that make sense?

Thanks

Jeroen bakker

Hi ross, I understand what you mean. The problem is that I have about 20 categories and 10 search forms. There are forms where i want to include one category and exlude another, otherwise I have to exclude all categories which is quite some work.. But if there is no other way, I have to rest my case

Jeroen bakker